Thread: Where to start collecting?

Where to start collecting?

Hello everyone!

I'm quite new to this INCREDIBLE Elvis page and forum, just found it a couple of weeks ago. So far, I've just mainly been reading your posts, and man, you really seem to know what you are talking about!

I am 25-year old male from Finland (anyone else here in Finland) and I've been a fan of Elvis for like 10 years (you have to blame my parents, because the first CD they bought me was some Elvis collection), but until recently I haven't been much of a collector. But now I have entered in the world of Elvis CDs and I'm really confused! There seems to be millions and millions CDs available. The official ones, FTDs, bootlegs (soundboard and audience recordings)... So far, I've tried to get my hands on some "must-have" CDs, like the "best" FTD-CDs and the official albums done while he was still alive (btw, does everyone here consider EP dead?). After buying some great FTD soundboard recordings I've really found out what a marvellous performer EP was even in 70s, which I never thought he had been. My collection so far is rather small, about 50 CDs.

So, what my question is? What live recordings (official, FTD or bootleg) would you suggest or recommend? I'm really not a fan of audience recordings so far, so I prefer soundboard recordings.

An other question also: is the "Elvis On Tour" (or was that the name of the document done of Elvis touring) released on DVD?

Thank you for bearing me and my silly questions!

"Mikey"

Backstage Pass