View Full Version : Kansas City Blues

05-28-2005, 02:38 PM

01. See see rider
02. When my blue moon turns to gold again / Blue Christmas
03. I got a woman / Amen
04. Love me
05. Trying to get to you
06. All shook up
07. Love me tender
08. Hound dog
09. Fever
10. Polk salad Annie
11. Why me Lord
12. Suspicious minds
13. Introductions to band
14. I can't stop loving you
15. Help me
16. Bridge over troubled water
17. Let me be there
18. Funny how time slips away (with reprise)
19. Big boss man
20. Steamroller blues
21. Can't help falling in love / closing riff

Label: Fort Baxter C5 1001
Released: 2005
Sound quality: very good (soundboard)

Date - tracks 01-17: June 29, 1974 (Evening show)
Location: Kansas City

Date - tracks 18-21: June 28, 1974
Location: Milwaukee

Jumpsuit: American Eagle suit

Reviews: n/a

Note that this concert has already been released as part of the 4 cd box "A Profile, The King On Stage", which was released on the Fort Baxter label in 1995. The sound quality however on this one seemes the be slightly better than on the original.
The ending of the show on this cd is different from the show that was part of the boxset. On the box the last two tracks - after "Let Me Be There" - were "Johnny B Goode & Can't Help Falling In Love". These two tracks came from the Dayton, October 6, 1974 show.
On "Kansas City Blues" however we get a couple of songs more, taken from the Milwaukee performance on June 28, 1974. A better choice, since this was the show from the previous night.


05-28-2005, 02:39 PM
http://www.tcb-world.com/files/listen.gif Audiosamples:

09-21-2005, 12:47 PM
(y) A nice re-release from FB! The cover artwork has been improved, the sound has been improved and ever the tracklist has been improved, because the missing tracks have now been replaced with recordings from the same tour (a good move from FB, because after the release of the original cd the complete Dayton show, from wich the songs where taken, has been released by another label).