View Full Version : A new 20 cd collection from Spain

04-20-2009, 10:23 AM
"ABC offers you the best discs of Elvis in a unique collection"
First delivery: “From Elvis In Memphis”, Sunday April 19 (2009).

This is the head of the advocacy that the national newspaper from Spain "ABC" in conjunction with Sony Music Entertainment Spain and RCA to launch a unique collection of 20 books with the best CD discography of the original King of Rock and Roll and illustrated biography totally unprecedented. This is the same collection that started eleven weeks ago the local newspaper of Catalonia (Spain) "La Vanguardia", but this time is for the whole country.

Each disc of this collection contains the original tracklisting album released and remastered from the original recordings accompanied by a hardcover book luxury of 30 pages with information and photographs in color and black/white.

For each delivery the book is divided into the following chapters:
1 .- Recording sessions: to realize all the details that accompanied the creation of each disc.
2 .- The musicians: all those involved with relevant biographical information of each.
3 .- The songs: the commentary, one by one, all the songs on the disc, its authors and peculiarities of the interpretation of Elvis.
4 .- The impact: the influence of other artists on record, its position in the charts and critical issue.

And in parallel the ELVIS biography: How was your life, who were his friends and family, what other music was inspired, how to align their private lives to the world of entertainment.

The list of the discs for 20 weekends delivered "ABC" is as follows in order of delivery here:

1.- From Elvis In Memphis (1969) april 19, 2009
2.- That´s The Way It Is (1970) - Original Soundtrack april 26, 2009
3.- Elvis Gold Records, vol.2 (1959) may 03, 2009
4.- Elvis, NBC TV Special (1968) - Original Soundtrack may 10, 2009
5.- Elvis Presley (Nº1) (1956) may 17, 2009
6.- His Hand in Mine (1960) may 24, 2009
7.- King Creole (1958) - Original Soundtrack may 31, 2009
8.- Elvis Golden Records, vol.1 (1958) june 07, 2009
9.- Elvis Country (1971) june 14, 2009
10.- Elvis (Nº2) (1956) june 21, 2009
11.- Blue Hawaii (1961) - Original Soundtrack june 28, 2009
12.- For LP Fans Only (1959) july 05, 2009
13.- Elvis Golden Records, vol.3 (1964) july 12, 2009
14.- Elvis Is Back! (1960) july 19, 2009
15.- Elvis In Person (1969) – live july 26, 2009
16.- Loving You (1957) - Original Soundtrack aug 02, 2009
17.- Elvis Gold Records, vol.4 (1968) aug 09, 2009
18.- Aloha from Hawaii Via Satellite (1973) – live aug16, 2009
19.- From Elvis Presley Boulevard , Memphis , Tennessee (1976) aug 23, 2009
20.- Jailhouse Rock / Love Me Tender (1997)- Original Soundtrack aug 30, 2009

It also makes reference to the official website (www.elvis.com) and their respective copyright to certify their quality of product approved.

The value of each weekly delivery of 4.95 euros + 1.10 euros for the newspaper. The following supplies will have a value of 9.95 + 1.10 euros for the newspaper.

More information on:

Raised on Rock
04-21-2009, 07:54 AM
Sounds good, how is the sound of the cd's so far?

Although neither the book info, or the cd's, will be something new for the already hardcore Elvis fans, its a nice strategy to put Elvis on the map for the casual music fans, the ones not very aware of what is the king about beyond the 30 greatest overrated hits.

Good news.

04-21-2009, 08:30 AM
The information and package is deluxe, but the sound is nothing new.
I've been surprised with the superb sound of "His Hand In Mine" (volume 6 of this collection). :supriced:
The sound of others titles were taken from normal BMG editions, not FTD. :'(

04-21-2009, 09:17 AM
Good News For The Spanish !