PDA

View Full Version : Original Elvis Cape For Sale



presley31
07-08-2008, 05:10 PM
http://i146.photobucket.com/albums/r264/Backstrom2003/auction_tigercape.jpg


For sale on eBay is an original cape, made by Bill Belkew/Gene Doucette for Elvis. However, although it is believed that Elvis wore this cape on stage, no pictures of him wearing the cape have actually surfaced. Frtom the description on eBay: “This cape is absolutely unique among the King's capes. Lavishly jeweled with amber stones and brass studs, lined in bold faux tiger skin, it is very heavy and surely one of the most elaborate capes ever worn by Elvis. Elvis wore this cape during the January/February 1973 Las Vegas season and/or at the May 1973 Lake Tahoe season. There is a blood stain at the hand level, where he held the open cape, probably caused by a fan pulling on his rings and cutting his finger. There are also sweat stains at the collar. The cape has never been cleaned after Elvis wore it. Bill Belew stated to us that he did make this cape for Elvis. Further, he remembered this particular suit and cape were special because he usually designed the outfits and submitted them to Elvis for his approval. This time, Elvis himself came up with the design and brought it to him. Elvis' karate name was "Tiger" and therefore, in this suit and cape he would be "Tigerman".”

Highest bid so far (with 4 days to go) is 18.700 dollar, but the reserve price is not yet met.
Source: ElvisMatters / Updated: Jul 8, 2008

Merry
07-08-2008, 05:27 PM
The design is very clever.

Thanks Jen.

Jumpsuit Junkie
07-10-2008, 03:23 AM
Certainly not one of my favourite suits but would still love to own such an item!

What worries me about this auction is that there is no mention of a certificate of authenticity? Which seems kind of strange given the item and the amount of money that is being bid?

Also some of photo's that are being used have been around the internet for some time! Why haven't they taken some more recent photo's considering they have it in their possession?

It may well be legitimate but it leaves you asking question IMO...