View Full Version : classic album Raised On Rock

07-16-2007, 11:43 AM

RAISED ON ROCK - Originally Released in 1973

http://www.tcb-world.com/files/listen.gif Tracklist: (click on the track to hear a 20 second sample) Help


01: Raised On Rock
02: Are You Sincere
03: Find Out What's Happening
04: I Miss You
05: Girl Of Mine
06: For Ol' Times Sake
07: If You Don't Come Back
08: Just A Little Bit
09: Sweet Angeline
10:Three Corn Patches

11: I Miss You - take 10/11 splice
12: Find Out What's Happening - take 6
13: It's Diff'rent Now - unedited rehearsal
14: Three Corn Patches - takes 1 & 2
15: If You Don't Come Back - take 5
16: Girl Of Mine - take 9
17: I Miss You - take 5
18: Three Corn Patches - takes 13 & 14
19: Are You Sincere - take 2
20: Find Out What's Happening - take 8/7 splice
21: For Ol' Times Sake - take 4
22: Color My Rainbow (instrumental)
23: Sweet Angeline (instrumental)


01: For Ol' Times Sake
02: If You Don't Come Back
03: Find Out What's Happening
04: Raised On Rock
05: Three Corn Patches (with false start)
06: Just a Little Bit (including false start)

07: If You Don't Come Back - takes 1-3
08: I Miss You - take 1
09: Girl Of Mine - take 1
10: Find Out What's Happening - takes 1-2, 4-5
11: Three Corn Patches - takes 4-6
12: For Ol' Times Sake - takes 5-7
13: I Miss You - take 10
14: If You Don't Come Back - takes 8 & 6
15: Find Out What's Happening - takes 8 & 7
16: Are You Sincere - take 1
17: Girl Of Mine - takes 3-6
18: Three Corn Patches - takes 9 & 1
19: I Miss You - takes 12-15
20: The Wonders You Perform (instrumental)
21: Good, Bad, But Beautiful (instrumental)

Reviews: none, please submit

01-23-2008, 08:34 PM
Finally picked up my copy of this album today!!! :D

I just finished listening to it and I have to say I am VERY impressed with both CD's!!! The sound quality seems MUCH improved over the original RCA CD that came out in the early 90's! (y)

I really enjoyed some of the outtakes, including the additional verse in IT'S DIFF'RENT NOW!! It is such a shame that he didn't record the whole song...it is such a beautiful ballad!!!

Alternate take 7 of FOR OL' TIMES SAKE is simply stunning...it's a shame that it broke down at the end. As I listened to it, you could hear a slight roughness in Elvis' voice which truly made the lyrics seem that much more personal to him...A TRUE BEAUTY!!!

I also enjoyed all of the outtakes of IF YOU DON'T COME BACK....one of the more underrated songs of the 70's, in my opinion.

It's a shame though, that they couldn't find the other alternate takes of the title song...it would be interesting to see how this song evolved from the early takes to the master take (take 10).

On first listen, I thought I would be a bit disappointed in the rough mixes...they sounded pretty close to the finished versions to me. But the false start on JUST A LITTLE BIT, along with the extended fade out on RAISED ON ROCK were a nice treat!!

As for the instrumentals that Elvis never got a chance to record vocals for...they are all beautiful sounding songs and I wish he would have gotten around to finishing them!!! COLOR MY RAINBOW is an especially pretty song and I would have loved to hear a completed version of it!

The packaging for RAISED ON ROCK is slightly disappointing....especially the cover photos which seem a bit dark and blurred to me. The booklet is nicely done though, with lots of session information along with some copies of various memos that were sent around the time of recording the album...a nice way to gain some additional insight into the album. There are a couple of pictures in the booklet but again they suffer from blurriness.

Overall, I am quite pleased with this upgrade!!! I have been looking forward to it for quite some time now, and thankfully, FTD didn't let me down!! :notworthy

01-28-2008, 04:24 PM
:DA really outstanding release, no doubt about it!!!!!I really like the instrumental's also and at least with the rough mix on Raised on Rock we get an elongated version which is just rockin' and great!!!!!:D(y):king:(y)

hot for elvis 69
03-02-2008, 12:42 PM
great tracks!

Trelane P
05-09-2008, 03:31 PM
The rough mix of IF U DON'T COME BACK is worth the price alone. Drums and bass high in the punchy mix and longer instrumental fade. One of my favourite Elvis tracks. Funky!

01-06-2009, 05:09 PM
great songs!!!!!

08-24-2009, 05:09 PM
I love it! Granted I only own three ftd cds but this is a true gem!

08-25-2009, 03:41 PM
I want this one really badly. :'(

08-30-2009, 12:46 PM
Here is the album cover.

10-29-2009, 07:55 PM
I love this one! Awesome CD!

10-29-2009, 11:15 PM
Even if it's snowing tomorrow..I'm driving clear to town for this one!!!! Woah..what a great treat in store...

The Everlasting Gaze
05-08-2010, 08:56 AM
I really like the outtakes of "ForīOl Times Sake" (y)

"ForīOl Times Sake" and "If You Dont Come Back" has always been my favorites on that album.

Another great track i like on this Ftd release is "Itīs Different Now"

I also like the instrumental songs "The Wonders You Perform" and "Good Bad,But Beautiful" despite that alot of
others think they are crap songs.

07-06-2010, 10:02 AM
One Of My Favorite FTD Cd's. (y)

08-13-2010, 12:09 PM
This one has always been one of my favorite LPs. Cool cover!!!!!